Saturday, September 5, 2009

LRCROSS - Get Your Telescopes Ready!

The LCROSS mission is basically every boys dream.."smashing stuff". NASA is smashing a satellite into the moon, literally.

According to NASA's LCROSS Page:
"Projected lunar impact is on October 9, 2009 at 11:30 UT (7:30 a.m. EDT, 4:30 a.m. PDT), +/- 30 minutes.

The impact time will be refined as the mission progresses. Two weeks prior to impact, the impact time will be known to within a second.
Check back on this webpage for the most up-to-date timing information."

With that said we still have over a month to wait. Now is the time to start planning and researching how you (YES YOU) can help with data collection for the LCROSS Project right from your backyard.

This is what NASA says about your involvement: "Mission scientists estimate that the Centaur impact plume may be visible through amateur-class telescopes with apertures as small as 10 to 12 inches. The LCROSS mission will actively solicit images of the impact from the public. These images will provide a valuable addition to the archive of data chronicling the impact and its aftermath...To participate in the LCROSS Amateur Observation Campaign, visit the LCROSS_Observation group."

Star planning and practicing those lunar photos.